American Experience: Reagan


Reagan is a four-hour, two-part biography focusing on the president who saw America as “a shining city on a hill.” Part of the Peabody Award-winning American Experience Collection The Presidents, the documentary examines Reagan’s life through the testimony of family — including Nancy Reagan and three of his children — along with friends, historians, biographers and other witnesses to Reagan’s private life and public career.

Part One: Lifeguard
Tuesday, August 4 at 8pm on CET
Lifeguard follows Reagan from his youth in the American heartland to the triumph of his “revolution” in 1981. The program traces the origins of Reagan’s difficulty forming attachments to his itinerant childhood and a painful episode with his drunken father.

Part Two: An American Crusade
Tuesday, August 11, at 8pm on CET
An American Crusade focuses on Reagan’s battle with the Soviet Union and his resolve to end the Cold War, which the program sees as his principal legacy.


Tuesdays, August 4 and August 11, at 8pm on CET