The Art Show – Season 5

Season 5, Episode 1

New York native and Richmond graffiti artist David Gerena

An Art-o-mat vending machine lands in Dayton: http://www.artomat.org/

Jason Harrelson

Columbus blacksmith John King shares the art of an ancient trade: https://www.ohiohistory.org/visit/ohio-village

Columbus photographer Jenny Fine

Miami’s Live In Color Dance Collective spreads the funk: https://www.facebook.com/liveincolordancecollective

The public street art in one Houston neighborhood

Hot Mama’s Cakes in Sacramento is taking cake decorating to a new tier: http://www.hotmamascakes.net/

The public street art in one Houston neighborhood

Buddhist monks create a sand mandala in Houston.

Season 5, Episode 2

Centerville artist Virginia Krause Hess

A long-vacant Dayton home is transformed into The Blue House Gallery and Studios: http://thebluehousearts.com/

Hip Hop artist Marcus Harrison

Hilliard’s Toni Lipsey shares her love of crocheting: http://www.tlyarncrafts.com/

Houston-based photographer Syd Moen

Master baristas at Buddy Brew Coffee in Tampa demonstrate the art of the perfect cup: https://www.buddybrew.com/

Dangerdust

Houston jewelry designer Jera Lodge creates wearable sculpture: http://www.jeralodge.com/

Season 5, Episode 3

Dayton Film Maker David Sherman and Songwriter Sandy Bashaw

Dayton’s Willis “Bing” Davis uses the arts to spark dialogue and build community: http://www.daytoncvb.com/listings/willis-bing-davis-studio-and-ebonnia-gallery/436/

Columbus artist Amy Leibrand

Columbus artist Marc Lincewicz creates dream-like pen and ink drawings: http://marclincewicz.com/home.html

Houston-based photographer Syd Moen

Art spans the generations in Continuance from father to son in Colorado Springs: http://www.csfineartscenter.org/exhibits/continuance-charles-and-collin-parson/

Houston-based photographer Syd Moen

The Barber Lounge Unplugged in Albany, New York: https://www.facebook.com/MJBarberLounge/

Season 5, Episode 4

Art Street at the University of Dayton

Arts educator Joe Deer inspires tomorrow’s stars of the stage at Wright State University: https://www.facebook.com/MTIatWSU

The Max Beckmann Exhibition at the St. Louis Art Museum

Columbus musician Wolfgang Parker creates children’s books starring crime-fighting cats: http://crimecatsbooks.com/

Albert Ewing's 'Hidden Mothers' photography

Houston architect Sherry Tseng Hill crafts colorful masks from discarded packaging: http://www.sherrytsenghill.com/

Longline Skateboards

The Central Florida performers of Radiant Illusions play with fire: http://www.radiantillusions.com/

Longline Skateboards

Art comes together piece by piece for Sacramento collage artist Maureen Hood: http://www.maureenhood.com/

Season 5, Episode 5

North South Studios in Wilmington

The Victoria Theatre celebrates 150 years of arts performances: https://www.victoriatheatre.com/venues/victoria-theatre/vic-150/

Mixed media artist and sculptor Amanda Louise Spayd

Art collector Blake Byrne celebrates his 80th birthday with a special traveling exhibit: http://theskylarkfoundation.org/#open-end-exhibition-preview

Contemporary artist Quang Ho and his exhibition at the Coors Western Art Exhibit and Sale

Food photographer Grace Natoli Sheldon creates kitchen art in Wisconsin: http://www.gnsphoto.com/

Artist Steve Slaske

The Toytisserie exhibit in Kansas City features numerous new and vintage toys: http://toyandminiaturemuseum.org/

Season 5, Episode 6

Dayton Art Institute

Photographer Bill Franz documents Dayton at work and play. https://www.facebook.com/DaytonAtWorkAndPlay/

Ceramic artist Sara Swink

Couture fashion designer Celeste Malvar-Stewart works exclusively with sustainable materials in Columbus: http://malvarstewart.com/index.html

The copper kettle factory D. Picking Company

Orlando interpreter Angela Roth brings American Sign Language front and center: http://aslservices.com/show-theater-creativecruises/

Fiber artist Karen Mulier

Sacramento’s Robyn Slakey brings sweet treats to unexpected places: https://www.facebook.com/robyn.s.artist

Fiber artist Karen Mulier

Houston painter Michael Roque-Collins inherits an artistic legacy: http://www.michaelroquecollins.net/Home.html

Season 5, Episode 7

Dayton's Zoot Theatre Company

Tiffany Clark creates murals to revitalize and heal Dayton neighborhoods: https://www.facebook.com/The-Mural-Machine-852966551480808.

Columbus Artist and Doll Maker Amber Groome

Columbus photographer Nick Reichard travels the Appalachian Trail: http://www.nickclicks.com/

The Wonderbound Dance Studio in Denver, Colorado

Travel to Houston to sample the handmade frozen desserts at Gelazzi: http://www.gelazzi.com/

Fine arts photographer Craig Royal

The cut paper art of New Mexico’s Catalina Delgado-Trunk reflects her heritage: http://www.calaca-arts.com/

Season 5, Episode 8

Sierra Leone

Dayton choreographer Crystal Michelle shares her love of dance and takes us behind the scenes of her show The Descent of This Water: Rain. Learn more: https://cmichelledance.wordpress.com/about/

Crystal Creek Glass

The paintings of upstate New York artist Barbara Page provide an unusual look at the natural world: http://www.barbarapagestudio.com/BPS/

Strand Theatre in Delware, Ohio

New Mexico’s Nic Nicosia creates rich narratives in his staged photographs: http://www.nicnicosia.com/

Season 5, Episode 9

Dayton Watercolorist Peter Frederick

Dayton artist Craig Galentine fabricates custom kokeshi dolls: https://www.etsy.com/shop/temple7e

Merry-Go-Round Museum in Sandusky

Charlotte Belland prints a herd of miniature 3D zebras in Columbus: http://www.bellandpixel.com/

Animator Seth Mittag

Check out what’s on the runway with Sacramento fashion photographer Mark Gunter: https://www.facebook.com/Mark-G-Photography-362485830442054/

See Art Orlando public art project

Travel to The Rockwell Museum in Corning, New York to get immersed in the art of the American West: http://rockwellmuseum.org/

Season 5, Episode 10

The Rubi Girls

The charcoal drawings of Dayton artist James Pate ignite a call to action.

Penny scale collector Christopher Steele

Retired Columbus businessman EJ Jones gives thrift store sweaters a new life.

Kit home designer Brett Zamore

Detroit metalsmith Christine Bossler forges wearable art: http://christinebossler.com/.

12 Years a Slave

The performers of the Houston Metropolitan Dance Center share their passion: http://www.metdance.org/#main.

Season 5, Episode 11

Dayton Fiber artist Jackie Weatherly

Lora Van Lear designs custom couture in her Miamisburg shop: http://www.vanlearbridals.com/

Artist and Assistant Professor of Fine Arts at Bluffton University Phil Sugden

Cincinnati’s Kanniks Kannikeswaran shares his love of the classical music traditions of India: http://www.kanniks.com/

New Mexico Arts Studio Axle Contemporary

Las Vegas master ceramicist Tom Coleman brings his work to a Columbus gallery: http://tomandelainecolemangallery.com/tom-coleman.html

The works of Norman Rockwell

Houston’s Kim Ritter stitches whimsical art quilts: http://www.kimritter.com/

Season 5, Episode 12

Rock balancer and installation artist Sterling Gregory

The founders of PechaKucha Dayton give us the scoop on their community show-and-tell events: https://www.facebook.com/pkdayton/.

Artist Charlotte McGraw

Cleveland’s Baba Jubal Harris is a third-generation pioneer of African drum making in the United States: http://oaae.net/artist-category-music/name/baba-harris/.

A California neighborhood turning dumpsters into canvases

Visit the new wing of the Columbus Museum of Art: https://www.columbusmuseum.org/.

The works of Norman Rockwell

PlatteForum connects artists with at-risk youth in Denver: http://platteforum.org/.

Season 5, Episode 13

The Dayton Performing Arts Alliance

Doug Benedict uses salvaged steel to create a new sculpture for the Vandalia Art Park during Heavy Metal Remix: http://vandaliaohio.org/recreation/parks/art-park/.

Cleveland woodworker Jon Hill

The elegant sculptures of Columbus artist Yasue Sakaoka expand on traditional Japanese origami: http://www.ohiofolkarts.org/yasue-sakaoka/.

Designer Kenji Kondo

Dayton artist Colleen McCulla shares her daily practice of creating and posting to social media a new collage each day: http://www.colleenmcculla.com/.